My 3 Cents

Yes, my three cents because it’s worth way more than just two cents. This #thedress debate is quite fascinating. I first saw the photo on Twitter and immediately thought it was absurd for all the confrontation. It was clearly black and blue. Maybe I could understand how the black looks brownish or gold, but it was still black. Then I showed my mother, without giving her my thoughts. She busted out with such confidence, “White and gold!”

You said what now? I’m pretty sure my eyes widened so much it looked like I just got dilated at the optometrist. Then we went back and forth, only getting more set in our own answers, for about 5 minutes. “It’s definitely blue and black; you’re crazy!” “No, it’s definitely white and gold! You’re the crazy one!” We are very persistent folks.

It really is hard to see it as the other person. I couldn’t fathom how the color could be white. I saw blue, and only blue. Yet my mom couldn’t understand how I saw the black in the dress. I tried to squint and change my viewpoint, tried to force my mind to see it the other way, but I came up empty every time.

My mom and I quickly Googled how this could happen. Multiple videos explained the differences in technical, scientific, smart-people terms. “Color Constancy” and how our eyes and brains have evolved to take in light. Basically our brains play tricks on our eyes. And those tricks are different for each of us. It has to do with shadows and shading. It has to do with natural light versus artificial light. It has to do with how we perceive light. It has to do with our mental processing. No matter how it happens, though, it is still mind-blowing. How can our brains be so perceptive without us even knowing? It only goes to show how much our minds are capable of. It’s hard to accept that someone else can be right, too. But in this case, my mom and I were both right. We have moved on from being stubborn about our color choices, to being fascinated by the science and our own minds. I kind of want another photo like this to come out so I can compare how my mom and I see that, too! Although, I don’t know if Twitter can handle the fights it saw last week on this simple dress again.

P.S. -I know this all happened a few days ago. But I like to wait for the fad to get over with, then I pipe up to reignite the fight again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

